Regional Waste Management Plans

The drawing up of waste management plans is an obligation of EU Member States and is required by Article 28 of the Waste Framework Directive.

Waste management planning is the cornerstone of any national, regional or local policy on waste management. The establishment of a plan allows taking stock of the existing situation, defining the objectives that need to be met, formulating appropriate strategies, and identifying the necessary implementation means.

For the purposes of waste management planning, Ireland is now divided into three regions: Southern, Eastern-Midlands and Connacht-Ulster.

Waste management plans for the three regions were published in May 2015;