WEEE Monitoring Group

WEEE Monitoring Group

Since it’s establishment in February 2003, the Taskforce on the Implementation of the EU Directives on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) and on the Restriction on Hazardous Substances (RoHS) successfully developed and oversaw the national implementation of the WEEE and RoHS Directives.

Now, in the post commencement phase as part of the ongoing consultation process, the WEEE Taskforce has been re-constituted as the WEEE Monitoring Group, launched in July 2006. The Group is representative of all the key stakeholders and will play a pivotal role in monitoring the continued implementation of the WEEE and RoHS Directives and in advising the Department and the Minister of further improvements and refinements to the WEEE regime in Ireland.


Members of the WEEE Monitoring Group


Fiona Quinn (Chairperson) Dept Environment, Community & Local Government
Aidan Candon Retail Excellence Ireland, Electrical Retailers Association
Andy Fanning Environmental Protection Agency
Darren Byrne Dept Environment, Community & Local Government
Dave Corcoran Dept Environment, Community & Local Government
Declan Collins BEKO
Dominic Henry WEEE Register Society
Evelyn Wright National TFS Office
Kurt M Kyck  Irish Waste Management Association
Leo Donovan WEEE Ireland
Mark Fox Camera
Martin Reddy Rehab Recycle
Martin Tobin ERP Ireland
Roger Harrington Dept Environment, Community & Local Government
Noel McStay REW
Pádraig Duggan RITTA
Áine Higgins ICT Ireland
Robert O'Shea IBEC
Sean Murray CCMA
Sean Lynam IBEC
Niall McLoughlin Dept Environment, Community & Local Government


The Secretary of the WEEE Monitoring Group can be contacted as follows:

Niall McLoughlin
Environment Policy and Awareness
Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government

Phone: +353 (0)53 911 7343
Email: Nall.McLoughlin@environ.ie