Motor Tax

We are responsible for developing national policy on motor tax and for overseeing operation of the motor tax system, in co-operation with the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport


The Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport is responsible for:

  • ​Changes of ownership
  • Motor tax online (first taxing of a new or imported vehicle , renewal of motor tax)

The Revenue Commissioners are responsible for:

  • Vehicle Registration Tax (VRT) and VRT Export Repayment Scheme 

The Road Safety Authority is reponsible for:

  • Driver  and vehicle testing